No GM crops for eleven EU countries

Eleven countries in the European Union have asked Brussels to exempt them from the cultivation of genetically modified organisms (GMO) in their territories. This was announced by the spokesman of Environment and Community Health, Enrico Brivio. The relevant member states are: France, Hungary, Poland, Lithuania, Austria, Greece, Croatia, Latvia, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom and Belgium. According to Brivio, in the two last named countries the veto applies only in certain regions (Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland in the UK, and Wallonia in Belgium).

Brivio also stated that both Latvia and Greece have informed GMO producers that the cultivation of such crops is not allowed, and that involved companies will be informed.

The new legislation on the cultivation of GMOs, which entered last spring, allows countries to ban GMOs on the basis of their own environmental policy. The legislation contains a procedure for companies that produce GMOs to accept restrictions on their marketing license before the member states shall take such measures. They can unilaterally impose a ban even if the company does not agree with the decision.
States that accept these crops must ensure that other products are not contaminated and prevent cross-border pollution.

The reform of legislation on the cultivation of GMOs was approved early 2015.

Source: Efeagro

Publication date:

Receive the daily newsletter in your email for free | Click here

Other news in this sector:

Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber

You are using software which is blocking our advertisements (adblocker).

As we provide the news for free, we are relying on revenues from our banners. So please disable your adblocker and reload the page to continue using this site.

Click here for a guide on disabling your adblocker.