Members elect new representatives to SAF board and councils

Members of the Society of American Florists elected three new leaders — one from each segment — to serve on its Board of Directors during SAF Amelia Island 2019, the association’s 135th annual convention, Sept. 18-21, on Amelia Island, Florida. In addition, SAF members elected eight members to positions on the association’s Retailers, Wholesalers and Growers Councils.

“SAF depends on the insight and expertise of our volunteer leaders,” said Kate Penn, SAF’s CEO. “We’re very fortunate to have such engaged, forward-thinking professionals to turn to for advice and inspiration as we work to grow the industry.”

The new members of SAF’s Board of Directors are Michael Pugh, AAF, of Pugh’s Flowers in Memphis, Tennessee (Retailer); Liza Roeser of, headquartered in Boise, Idaho (Wholesaler) and Stephen Kennicott of Kennicott Kuts, headquartered in Donovan, Illinois (Grower).

Eleven candidates ran for this year’s eight open council seats. SAF members voted in July for new leaders to serve on SAF’s Growers, Retailers and Wholesalers Councils for three-year terms. Candidates for the Growers and the Wholesalers Councils ran uncontested. Each segment council member is appointed to one of SAF’s joint councils – Government Relations, Consumer or Member Services — which meet twice-yearly immediately following the segment council meeting to provide more specific direction in their respective areas.

The new SAF Council members are as follows:

Retailer Council: Sandy Nielsen of Nielsen’s Florist and Garden Shop in Darien, Connecticut, Chris Norwood, AIFD, PFCI, of Tipton & Hurst in Little Rock, Arkansas; and Brad Levy of Allan’s Flowers & Plants in San Diego.

Wholesaler Council: Dave Torres of DWF Wholesale Florist in Denver, Colorado; and Lenny Walker of Kennicott Brothers in Chicago.

New Growers Council: Ross Johnson of RosaPrima in Miami; Rita Jo Shoultz of Alaska Perfect Peony in Fitz Creek, Alaska; and Susie Bachman West of Bachman’s in Minneapolis.

Election results were announced on Sept. 21 during the convention’s Business Session. The new members of SAF’s Board of Directors and SAF’s segment councils began serving three-year terms after SAF Amelia Island 2019.

For more information:
Jenester Corbin
(800) 336-4743, ext. 234

Publication date:

Receive the daily newsletter in your email for free | Click here

Other news in this sector:

Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber

You are using software which is blocking our advertisements (adblocker).

As we provide the news for free, we are relying on revenues from our banners. So please disable your adblocker and reload the page to continue using this site.

Click here for a guide on disabling your adblocker.