SNA’s Sidney B. Meadows Fund awards $18,000 in scholarships

The Sidney B. Meadows Scholarship Fund, created in 1989 by the Southern Nursery Association (SNA), has announced the names of twelve students from nine southeastern universities chosen to receive academic scholarships this year. Seven of the awards are named scholarships honoring past industry leaders. Each award of $1,500, totaling $18,000, has been presented to the following excelling scholars:

  • Jordan McKenzie Baylor, University of Georgia (Robert L. Vanlandingham Scholarship)
  • Kelby Jade Biswell, University of Arkansas
  • Justin Todd Bratcher, University of Georgia (Richard J. Hackney Scholarship)
  • Elizabeth Coleman, University of Georgia
  • Kristopher S. Criscione, Louisiana State University (Dr. James & Faye Foret Scholarship)
  • Hunter Leigh Hall, University of Mount Olive
  • Jonathan Alexander Hampton, Auburn University (Arthur A. "Buck" Jones Scholarship)
  • Shelby Grace Horton, Texas A&M University (Lee C. Howell Scholarship)
  • Emma Cate Plouzek Morris, University of Maryland (Art & Millie Lancaster Scholarship)
  • Martine Patiance Bowombe Toko, Tennessee Tech University (Dr. Bryson L. James Scholarship)
  • William C. Tolley, Western Kentucky University
  • Zia Valerie Williamson, University of Georgia

Scholarship recipients are determined through a competitive application process, administered by a selection committee, based on academics, determination, demonstrated interest in the horticulture industry, and financial need. This year’s recipients were chosen from a very competitive group of applicants. Of the twelve students, three are graduate students and nine are under graduate.

“Congratulations to this exemplary group of students who have excelled academically and demonstrated determination and a passion for horticulture,” said Danny Summers, Executive Vice President of the fund.

“We continue to hear from recipients how important these awards are in reducing their financial stress allowing them the ability to concentrate more on their studies. I am confident each of these students will make an effective and positive contribution to our industry in the future. I look forward to seeing their accomplishments as they complete their studies,” he added.

With this year’s awards, the fund has awarded a total of $558,000 since the fund was established in 1989. The fund’s current assets are now more than $880,000. Eight named funds have been pledged to date: The Larry D. Edwards Fund, the Dr. James & Faye Foret Fund, the Richard J. “Dick” Hackney Fund, Sr. Fund, the Lee C. Howell Fund, the Dr. Bryson L. James Fund, the Arthur A. “Buck” Jones Fund, the Art & Millie Lancaster Fund, and the Robert L. VanLandingham Fund. The financial support offered by the fund has allowed many students the opportunity to work toward their educational goals.

Created in 1989 by the Southern Nursery Association (SNA), The Sidney B. Meadows Scholarship Endowment Fund is a 501 (c) 3 corporation providing scholarships to students who are residents of the sixteen southeastern states SNA represents – Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia – pursuing a career in horticulture. The scholarship is dedicated to one of the most honored horticultural leaders, the late Sidney B. Meadows, a Past President of the Southern Nursery Association, who was an avid supporter of student scholarships and believed that providing aid for students was an important way to ensure the growth and development of all facets of the industry. The fund derives its income from individual and corporate contributions and is governed by the Sidney B. Meadows Scholarship Endowment Fund board of directors.

An application for 2021 scholarships will be available online by January 1, 2021. Those interested in receiving scholarship information or the latest fund news can subscribe to the automated information system on the fund’s website.

More details on scholarship recipients can be found at For more information on the Sidney B. Meadows Scholarship Endowment Fund, forward your inquiry to PO Box 801513, Acworth, GA 30101, 678.813.1880, or visit

Publication date:

Receive the daily newsletter in your email for free | Click here

Other news in this sector:

Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber