US: AmericanHort announced 2015 HortScholars

AmericanHort has selected six students to serve as the year’s HortScholars. This rigorous competitive application process identifies some of the industry’s brightest professionals and helps to launch their careers in horticulture by providing education and networking opportunities. The goal of the HortScholars program is to provide students with an enriching professional development experience that increases their knowledge, industry awareness, and career enthusiasm.

2015 HortScholars

• Sarah Leach Smith, University of Delaware
• Bobby Nance, Virginia Tech
• Madeline Olberg, Purdue University
• Nick Sobecki, Ohio University
• Emily Teng, University of Hawaii
• William Yoho Jr, Ohio State University Agricultural Technical Institute

HortScholars will be on-site at Cultivate’15 (July 11-14 in Columbus, Ohio) and receive complimentary Cultivate registration, lodging, and meals. Additionally, they will receive a complimentary one-year AmericanHort membership. On-site at Cultivate’15, HortScholars will assist the Generation Next Community with events, conduct presentations that share their insight into industry issues, attend the exhibitions and educational sessions, meet with industry mentors, and network at various social events.

More information on this year’s HortScholars, including biographies and photos, are available at


Publication date:

Receive the daily newsletter in your email for free | Click here

Other news in this sector:

Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber