Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber

You are using software which is blocking our advertisements (adblocker).

As we provide the news for free, we are relying on revenues from our banners. So please disable your adblocker and reload the page to continue using this site.

Click here for a guide on disabling your adblocker.

Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber

The CSFA annual event in retrospect

The California State Floral Association’s (CSFA) annual event - “CaliFlora 2019” – “Floral Artistry Showcase” was hosted by the ‘The Original Los Angeles Flower Market’.

Saturday was filled with hands-on education classes featuring instructors, Anthony Alvarez AIFD, CCF, EMC (Garland Construction – Basics and Beyond); Lee Burcher AIFD, CCF, CFD, PFCI (Surprise Package 101 or How To Take it to Number One); Wilton Lee CCF (Lei Making Workshop); and Reina Sumabat AIFD, CCF (Floral Crown & Body Flower Designing Made Easy.

Anthony Alvarez AIFD, CCF, EMC – Placed 4th and won People’s Choice Award in the Top Ten competition

CSFA President, Wilton Lee CCF and Emcee Catherine Hillen-Rulloda AIFD officially opened the convention with a welcome on Sunday morning.

The fourteenth annual CSFA student design competition was held Sunday morning with Debbie Alvarez CCF as Commentator. The student competition was sponsored by the San Francisco Flower Mart. The winner of the 2019 student design competition and People’s Choice Award is Valailuck Nok Suwanich, Golden West College. This year’s 2nd place winner is Kassidy Talbot, Cal Poly State University, San Luis Obispo; third place winner is Samantha Theodozio, Cal Poly State University, San Luis Obispo. Along with the first, second and third place winners, the following students also competed in the Student Design Competition: Kiara Benavides, Cal Poly State University, San Luis Obispo, Madison Reaves, Cal Poly State University, San Luis Obispo, Lina Woo, City College of San Francisco, and Katie Wik, Enochs High School.

Student Competition winners – left to right – 3rd place student winner, Samantha Theodozio, 1st place winner Valailuck Nok Suwanich, 2nd place winner Kassidy Talbot

The 2019 Top Ten Design Competition was sponsored by CalFlowers. Mary Anne Mertz, Mary Anne Mertz Floral Design is this year’s Top Ten Winner. Judy Janzen CFD, Freelance Floral Designer, took second place. Third Place winner is Vic Castillo AIFD, CFD, Anturio Designs & Events. People’s Choice and Fourth Place Winner is Anthony Alvarez, AIFD, CCF, EMC, Jasmine Creek Florist. The following designers received Top Ten Awards: Grace Andrade, Freelance Floral Designer, Kat Castagnoli AIFD, CCF, CFD, Kat’s Floral Design, Manuel Cuate Velazquez AIFD, CFD, Freelance Floral Designer and Wilton Lee CCF, Lee’s Berkeley Florist & Nursery. Cathy Frost-Hickman AIFD was the Top Ten Commentator.

Mary Anne Mertz – Top Ten Winner

Mary Anne will be invited to represent CSFA in the Society of American Florists Sylvia Cup Competition in 2020. During the Sunday afternoon program, the California State Floral Association honored Peggi Ridgway from the Bloomin’ News for her Leadership, and Exemplary Contributions to the California State Floral Association and the entire floral Industry. Mellano & Company hosted beverages and delectable delights for Sunday’s attendees. The Silent Auction was Chaired by Steven Brown AIFD, CCF, CFD. Items were up for auction and bidding wars were fierce.

Meritorious Service Award Winner Peggi Ridgway, The Bloomin’ News

The California Certified Florist Pinning Ceremony (CCF) was held on Sunday afternoon. CCF Committee Chair, Kay Wolff AIFD, CCF, CFD presided over the presentation and was assisted by CSFA President, Wilton Lee CCF. Congratulations to Tin Tin Aye Ye CCF, Gricelda Hernandez CCF, Lucia Medina CCF, Leslie O’Dell CCF and Karina Perez CCF.

CSFA President Wilton Lee CCF Receiving President’s Award

The audience was treated to an afternoon design show sponsored by Accent Décor featuring Joyce Mason-Monheim AIFD, CFD, AAF, PFCI, AzMF. Joyce was this year’s AIFD Symposium Chair and is a Past President of the American Institute of Floral Designers.

Joyce Mason-Monheim AIFD, CFD, AAF, PFCI, AzMF - Featured Sunday afternoon designer sponsored by Accent Décor.

The Top Ten podium arrangement and trophy table designs were created by 2018 Top Ten Winner, Sambath Prom-Chiem AIFD, CCF, CFD, Sammy Chiem Events.

For more information:
California State Floral Association

Publication date: