Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber

You are using software which is blocking our advertisements (adblocker).

As we provide the news for free, we are relying on revenues from our banners. So please disable your adblocker and reload the page to continue using this site.

Click here for a guide on disabling your adblocker.

Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber

US (CA): Pasadena Tournament of Roses announces 2024 float judges

The Pasadena Tournament of Roses has selected Heather de Kok, Judith K. Nakamura, and Richard Schulhof as judges for the 2024 Float Awards sponsored by FTD.

This year’s judges bring unique perspectives on parades and floral presentations. An inductee of the American Institute of Floral Design, Heather is a proud Canadian businesswoman and founder of the Annual Maple Leaf Cup Floral Design Competition and has worked as a technical advisor at the Interflora World Cup of Flowers in 2019 and 2023. Judith is a retired Chief Justice of the New Mexico Supreme Court and is the current President of the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta, the world’s largest hot-air balloon festival. Richard comes from a 50-year career in horticulture, working as deputy director of Harvard University’s Arnold Arboretum and recently retired as CEO of the Los Angeles County Arboretum.

Each year, three judges grant 24 float awards based on three categories: Float Design, Floral Presentation, and Entertainment Value. The judges are looking for creative design and outstanding presentation of the theme matched with floral artistry and artistic excellence.

The top award is the coveted Sweepstakes trophy, which is awarded for the most beautiful entry, encompassing float design, floral presentation, and entertainment.

As the award-winning floats venture down the parade route, they are preceded by banners showcasing their award. The banners are carried by members of the Tournament of Roses, Eagle Scout Troops, and Gold Award Girl Scout Troops.

On the morning of January 1, the award-winning floats will be announced on the front steps of Tournament House by the 2024 Tournament of Roses President Alex Aghajanian. The 135th Rose Parade, presented by Honda, will begin at 8:00 AM/PST and will be broadcast in the United States and around the world to kick off America’s New Year Celebration®.

For more information:
Pasadena Tournament of Roses
[email protected]

Publication date: