Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber

You are using software which is blocking our advertisements (adblocker).

As we provide the news for free, we are relying on revenues from our banners. So please disable your adblocker and reload the page to continue using this site.

Click here for a guide on disabling your adblocker.

Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber

US (NY): Horticulture and plant science honor society inducts 48 new members

The Cornell chapter of Pi Alpha Xi (PAX), the national honor society for horticulture and plant sciences, inducted 48 new members during an April 25, 2024, ceremony.

Only the best students in the plant sciences are invited to join Pi Alpha Xi, which celebrates its 101st anniversary this year. PAX was founded in 1923 at Cornell University and Cornell is the Alpha Chapter. Originally, it was the national honor society for floriculture, landscape horticulture and ornamental horticulture. In recent years it has expanded and now honors excellence in all aspects of horticulture and plant science.

Since its founding, PAX has grown to 40 chapters at baccalaureate-granting institutions. Its mission is to promote scholarship, fellowship, professional leadership, and the enrichment of human life through plants. PAX was active at Cornell for many years, peaking in the 1970s. But the chapter went dormant for several years until its revival in 2013.

Chapter activities this academic year included a field trip to the National Bonsai Conference in Rochester, N.Y., a poinsettia sale, a Valentine's Day cut flower sale, and a houseplant study break at the Big Red Barn.

The 2024 Cornell PAX Chapter inductees are Nina Ahumada-Forester, Natalie Anderson, Emma Basher, Lindsay Bauer, Kevin Biggiani, Samantha Bilello, Lily Brummel, Davith Chan , Allan Chu, Jacob Czarnecki, Nick Dalena, Joseph DelConte, Noa Dijstelbloem, Kate Dooling, Sarah Flanagan, Chiara Giraldo, Charlie Hernandez, Justin Hong, Matthew Hope, Olivia Hullihen, Abigail Hurtgam, Zoe James, Sadie Jimenez, Maddie Kaufman Schiller, Piper Kohlenberger, Corbin Lay, Darian Lee, Kiersten Louie, Ella Mancino, Emily Nelson, Peyton Nichols, Emily Norsen, John Payne, Maria Persaud Fernandez, Camille Radhakrishnan, Ava Robillard, John Roemer, Jacob Roitburg, Julianna Rose, Teddy Salgado, Lana Scepanovic, Dylan Sheng, Leanna Skeete, David Stridiron, Mia Wangari Adriko, Caleb Webb, Nolan Wilbur and Jake Zajkowski.

Publication date: