Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber

You are using software which is blocking our advertisements (adblocker).

As we provide the news for free, we are relying on revenues from our banners. So please disable your adblocker and reload the page to continue using this site.

Click here for a guide on disabling your adblocker.

Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber

Expert panel assembled for judging AIPH IGOTY Awards 2020

To recognise the very best ornamental growers around the world, it’s only logical to look to the judgment of those who know best. To judge the International Association of Horticultural Producers (AIPH) International Grower of the Year (IGOTY) Awards 2020, a panel of prestigious growers and experts has been assembled to determine who will be next year’s awards winners and ultimately who will claim the title of International Grower of the Year.

The international judging panel is chaired by Mr Tim Edwards, Vice President of AIPH and Chairman of Boningale Nurseries (UK). Jury members are Mr Jan-Dieter Bruns, President of the European Nursery Stock Association (ENA) Germany; Mr Mike Rimland, Vice President of Costa Farms (USA); Mr Andre van Kruijssen, General Director of the Veiling Holambra Cooperative (Brazil); Dr Zhao Shiwei, Vice President of the World Federation of Rose Societies and Mr Poul Graff, CEO  of Graff Breeding A/S (Denmark).

All entries for the IGOTY Awards 2020 have been received and judging has now commenced. The awards, supported by Headline Sponsor Royal FloraHolland, consist of five categories – Finished Plants and Trees, Young Plants, Cut Flowers and Bulbs, Inspiring Business and the Sustainability Award. For each category a gold, silver and bronze may be awarded. From among all the entrants, one overall winner will receive the ‘Gold Rose’ and will be named International Grower of the Year 2020. In 2019, the coveted Gold Rose was won by Gediflora, Belgium, a breeder and propagator of potted Chrysanthemums.

All winners will be announced at the IGOTY Awards ceremony which takes place on the evening of Tuesday 28th January 2020 at the AIPH approved trade show IPM Essen, held at Messe Essen in Germany. IGOTY venue partner IPM Essen is ruby sponsor of the IGOTY Awards 2020.

Early bird offers for individual tickets and corporate hospitality packages are available to book online at: until the 1st December 2019. The IGOTY Awards 2020 provide an opportunity to enjoy elegant dining, high class entertainment and international networking at IPM Essen and IGOTY guests receive a complementary ticket to IPM for their preferred day. IGOTY sponsorship packages are also available by contacting Mr Treve Evans, AIPH Senior International Relations Manager by email: [email protected].

Publication date: