Entries for the Aiph International Grower of the Year Award to close on June 30

Time is running out for ornamental growers to showcase their achievements. Entries for the prestigious AIPH International Grower of the Year (IGOTY) Awards 2024 close on June 30, 2023

Established by the International Association of Horticultural Producers (AIPH) in partnership with FloraCulture International (FCI), the IGOTY Awards have been championing outstanding achievements in the ornamentals sector since 2009. They recognize best practice in horticultural production by the top ornamental production nurseries from around the globe, celebrating the expertise and energy they give to horticulture. The awards also stimulate and promote best practices by giving global attention to outstanding producers and promoting knowledge throughout the industry.

The awards comprise five categories:

  • Finished plants and trees
  • Young plants
  • Cut flowers and bulbs
  • Sustainability
  • Inspiring business

From among these categories, only one winner will be crowned the ‘AIPH International Grower of the Year 2024’ and receive the ‘Gold Rose’ – the industry’s most coveted prize.

In January 2023, Brookdale Treeland Nurseries Ltd (BTN) was announced as International Grower of the Year 2023 and won the Gold Rose award. BTN is one of the largest and most respected growers of garden plants in Canada. With four farms in Ontario and one in British Columbia, they have a land base of more than 800 acres.

In an interview with FCI, BTN’s CEO Jeff Olsen said: “Personally, this is a highlight of my career and makes me so proud to be named IGOTY 2023 among such a prestigious group of companies. For BTN, this award validates the hard work that our team has been doing and motivates them to push further.

“We set a goal to win this award as a part of our Strategic Planning Process, as we knew how the recognition would be great for our business. I sit on many industry boards and always recommend applying to my peers.”

Candidates can enter the IGOTY Awards 2024 online, and entry closes on Friday, June 30, 2023. Judging will then take place by a panel of industry experts who will assess the entrants on five key criteria; economic performance, innovation, market insight, sustainability, and human resources policy.

For more information:

Publication date:

Receive the daily newsletter in your email for free | Click here

Other news in this sector:

Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber

You are using software which is blocking our advertisements (adblocker).

As we provide the news for free, we are relying on revenues from our banners. So please disable your adblocker and reload the page to continue using this site.

Click here for a guide on disabling your adblocker.